Day 2 & 3

Yesterday was a fun day!  I finally began to remember people’s names and make new friends.  I also began to learn my way around campus, so luckily I no longer got lost every time I walked out the door.  Yesterday started with a 6 a.m. milking at the cow barn, so I had to get up at 5:30 and walk in the dark to the barn.  It’s hard work, we have to feed the cows, milk them, scrape all the manure out of the gutters, and put down fresh sawdust.  

After finishing in the barn, there was a delicious breakfast in the KDU building.  First class of the day started at 8:30, and I had Chemistry again.  Then at 10 I went back to the barn to help with the mid morning feeding and hung out with friends until lunch time.  The nice thing about Saturdays are that there are only classes in the morning, and then the weekend starts after lunch.  I spent the rest of the day in Brattleboro, VT shopping and walking around with my friends.  It was my first time in ‘Brat’, so I had a lot of fun.  The day ended with running around campus in the dark playing glow stick capture of the flag and watching movies.  

Day 3!

Today I woke up for barn chores at 5:30 again (same as every morning for the next 2 weeks) and we finished early.  After taking a much needed shower, I ate waffles, scrambled eggs, and apple pastries for breakfast.  Mmmm, it was so good!  Then I had the whole day to just settle in, hang out, and read a book.  It was very relaxing and unproductive on the whole.  

Tomorrow is MLK day, and although we do not have classes, we will be helping out and participating in activities.  I will be in the Guerilla Singing group, traveling around locally and singing for people.  I am excited to be in this group, and to share my voice around Vermont.

Leave a Reply

